cannot get pythonwin working with ArcGIS 10.6.1

11-21-2019 11:29 AM
RickHawkins
New Contributor II

I am using ArcMap 10.6.1 and am trying to install and use pythonwin but i am not having much luck. What version of pythonwin should i be using and what version of python? When i try to enter import arcpy i get an error saying that module does not work. I am using pywin32-217.win32-py2.7.exe. 

If i did not provide enough information please let me know. I just started learning python scripting for ArcGIS

0 Kudos
17 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

You need the version for python 2.7.

You also have to use ArcMap's python interpreter... It sounds like you have a disconnect between the two

import sys
sys.executable

what does that report? and is it to the python that arcmp uses?

0 Kudos
RickHawkins
New Contributor II

when i enter the two commands into a pythonwin window i get nothing showing in the results section

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

o you don't see something like this ?? (I can run pythonwin form ArcGIS pro, so the first part of the path isn't relevant... only the portion from … site-packages onwards is key

If memory serves, python for arcmap is installed in c:\python(version number etc)

0 Kudos
RickHawkins
New Contributor II

i get the following:  'C:\\Python27\\Lib\\site-packages\\pythonwin\\Pythonwin.exe'

0 Kudos
RickHawkins
New Contributor II

How do you use ArcMap's python interpreter? Right now i instatlled Python 2.7 and pywin 32 build 214. I tried the following code and get these errors. How do you get pythonwin to work with a current GIS document?

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

I haven't used arcmap in ages, but if memory serves there should be a

C:\pythonxx\ folder on you computer followed by something like arcmapxx.

pythonwin has to be installed in the site-packages folder in that path.