CalculateFields (multiple) vs. da.UpdateCursor

06-08-2020 05:04 AM
JakeJohnson
New Contributor III

Hello,

I've been trying to improve the scripts I have and stumbled across this legendary post:

/blogs/richard_fairhurst/2014/11/08/turbo-charging-data-manipulation-with-python-cursors-and-diction... 

However, I was wondering if CalculateFields as opposed to CalculateField would be even better. I don't know how it works behind the scenes -- is it just multiple CalculateField calls or more than that?

0 Kudos
19 Replies
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

Calculate fields is a new one for me, but after looking at the help docs it appears to be as you suggest, it appears to be calculate field but with mulitple fields and code blocks.  In other words, each record will have the same value in the given field(s).

I have been using Richard Fairhurst‌'s approach for a couple of years; it's a mainstay for me.

That should just about do it....
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

I don't know how it works behind the scenes

Outside of Esri's development team, no one know exactly how it works.

Whether Calculate Field—Data Management toolbox | Documentation or Calculate Fields (multiple)—Data Management toolbox | Documentation, a cursor in some way, shape, or form is being used to iterate over and update the data since cursors are a fundamental database/datastore control structure.

My guess is that Esri introduced the multiple version of Calculate Field for people who have a need for basic updates to multiple fields but cursors are more in the weeds than they want to go.  Also, since the multiple version is a Geoprocessing tool, it will integrate into Model Builder and streaming models that involved updating several fields.

I am sort of surprised it took this long, but then again I am not surprised at all....

JakeJohnson
New Contributor III