Arcpy Runtime Error The Product License has not been initialized

02-28-2021 08:51 AM
ShirleyLi
New Contributor III

I'm using ArcPy with multiprocessing to run area solar radiation tool. I keep getting this "Runtime Error The Product License has not been initialized". The script is still running and I can get results. But I wonder if this slows down the process and how I can avoid this error. Here is how I set up the multiprocessing part

# create a process pool
pool = Pool(processes=cpu_count())
pool.starmap(calcSolar,input_path)
pool.close()
pool.join()

I tried to change the number of processes and sometimes I didn't get this error. I'm very new to multiprocessing. Any help is appreciated!  

8 Replies
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

see the code examples

Area Solar Radiation (Spatial Analyst)—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation

have you instantiated the spatial analyst extension by importing SA

from arcpy.sa import *

... sort of retired...
ShirleyLi
New Contributor III

Yes. I imported arcpy.sa. I can get results though I got this error so I guess this configuration is okay but not optimal

0 Kudos
AngusHooper1
Occasional Contributor III

Are you using a single use license, pulling from a concurrent use license manager or via ArcGIS Online?

ShirleyLi
New Contributor III

I'm using the python environment from Pro and it uses a concurrent use license. Do I need a single use license?

0 Kudos
AngusHooper1
Occasional Contributor III

Double check the LM when you run this script. You may be borrowing a license per multiprocess thread and hitting a cap.

DuncanHornby
MVP Notable Contributor

I would check out and check in the spatial analyst extension in the worker function you are calling through multiprocessing.

0 Kudos
AlfonsoYanezMorillo
New Contributor II