Arcpy MakeFeatureLayer_management Lyr name

Jump to solution
05-24-2017 03:44 PM
JorgePereira
New Contributor II

I'm a complete noob at arcpy. 

I must do a college paper using arcpy. It’s a step by step thing and it takes much longer than expected J

I’ve got a question regarding the add join tool. From what I could find online, I need to make a feature layer to get the join working. I’ve achieved this, but always with a problem: I lose my feature name when converting it to a layer. Each new feature is named after the «joinFeaturesLyr» (adding a number) and not using the features in the database names. Is there a way to solve this? It’s been killing me for the las two days.

This is the part of the script I mentioned. I tried to use the for

arcpy.env.overwriteOutput = True
arcpy.env.workspace = tmp_GDB    #It's a gdb called tmp!
#outputFcList = arcpy.ListFeatureClasses() 
#print outputFcList

for joinFeatures in arcpy.ListFeatureClasses():
     arcpy.MakeFeatureLayer_management(joinFeatures, "joinFeaturesLyr")

print 'Executing'

try:
         arcpy.AddJoin_management(in_layer_or_view="joinFeaturesLyr", in_field="MsLink_ODBC", join_table=catalogo, join_field="ligacao")
     except Exception as err:
         print(err.args[0])

print ‘Exporting'
     try:
         arcpy.FeatureClassToGeodatabase_conversion("joinFeaturesLyr", tmp_GDB)
     except:
         #arcpy.AddError('Script Error')
         print arcpy.GetMessages()

Thank you!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JorgePereira
New Contributor II

Solved by using arcpy.JoinField_management....... Thank you

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

As they say, a picture is worth 1,000 words, sometimes more.  If you could provide a couple screenshots showing what you see and describing what you want/expect to see, it would be helpful. 

JorgePereira
New Contributor II

Yes, Thank you for you swift answer. I've tried it with Describe. Same issue