Select to view content in your preferred language

How to "cut off" areas from map in data view

Jump to solution
12-16-2016 07:08 AM
Larry_Miller
Deactivated User

I have a map display to an extent close to what I need. There are some areas North and South of the targeted area that I would like to remove from the finished map when printed. I am fairly new at this and cant quite figure out all of the bells and whistles to edit the format.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

You could create a polygon feature class that is of the exact dimensions of your area of interest and use it to set the extent of your data display:

Create a feature class in a database in ArcGIS for Desktop—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop 

or use a graphic to do the same thing.  Or set it to exact xy coordinates:

Customizing your map extent—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop 

BTW, attaching an mxd without the appropriate data provides nothing for the forum.  An mxd is nothing more than a 'laundry list' of what data you've added and how it's displayed.

File Format MXD - GIS Wiki | The GIS Encyclopedia 

That should just about do it....

View solution in original post

3 Replies
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

You could create a polygon feature class that is of the exact dimensions of your area of interest and use it to set the extent of your data display:

Create a feature class in a database in ArcGIS for Desktop—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop 

or use a graphic to do the same thing.  Or set it to exact xy coordinates:

Customizing your map extent—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop 

BTW, attaching an mxd without the appropriate data provides nothing for the forum.  An mxd is nothing more than a 'laundry list' of what data you've added and how it's displayed.

File Format MXD - GIS Wiki | The GIS Encyclopedia 

That should just about do it....
Larry_Miller
Deactivated User

sorry about the .mdx again new to this, still kicking the tires But Thank you very much for the help.

0 Kudos