How to activate editing features?

10-27-2017 06:32 AM
AlexanderKrawczyk
New Contributor

I am new in ArcGIS and I do not know how to handle this problem.

I've got a map and I'd like to add some new features. But whatever I do, the editor is always "deactivated".

I've created a new Geodatabase and created a new Feature-Class. The feature-class is shown on the left as "New Feature".

Rightclick on "New Feature" --> Start editing 

But the segments are just deactivated (see screenshot). How do I activate them?

Thanks a lot for helping! Thank you so much.

Greets

0 Kudos
10 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

In ArcMap, you have to start an Edit session, by selecting the layer in the table of contents, then selecting Start Editing from the Editor toolbar (which I presume you added from the Customize,toolbars, menu option.  As a side note, in ArcGIS Pro, features and attributes are always at the ready to be edited without much fuss at all

AlexanderKrawczyk
New Contributor

Thanks for your message. That's what I did. Edit session started, but "Straight Segment" etc. still deactivated.

0 Kudos
Luiz_AmadeuCoutinho
Occasional Contributor III
MitchHolley1
MVP Regular Contributor

If you're just trying to add new line feautres to your Feature Class, you can use the 'Create Feautres' window.  See below: 

Make sure the layer is turned on in the Table of Contents. 

Click the layer you're wanting to add features to in the 'Create Features' window. 

Then, just draw your new features

AlexanderKrawczyk
New Contributor

Thanks mates. I've read the tutorial and I actually already know how it works (I thought I know )

The problem is, when clickling on the create features button, just nothing happens. No new window appears. Just nothing happening. What's that? Thus editing segments not possible. Editing is started.

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus