How can I auto-connect polygons in ArcGIS 10.3?

Jump to solution
06-17-2015 01:11 PM
SteveSkotnicki
New Contributor

I am new to ArcGis, and I am creating a large number of adjacent polygons for a geologic map that share edges. How can I connect one polygon to another such that the topology will contain no gaps, and will allow me NOT to have to redraw the shared edge(s)?

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

Have you already started drawing? If not, I've found it easier to start with a large polygon covering your entire area, and cutting it into smaller contiguous pieces than to draw new polygons.

Aside from that, you may be interested in topology editing.

View solution in original post

14 Replies
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

Have you already started drawing? If not, I've found it easier to start with a large polygon covering your entire area, and cutting it into smaller contiguous pieces than to draw new polygons.

Aside from that, you may be interested in topology editing.

IanMurray
Frequent Contributor

Agreed Darren, that is a much easier procedure then trying to get a bunch of polygons to be coincident with each other.  Sometimes its worth it even if you already started drawing since it saves so much time trying to line up vertices and edges.

0 Kudos
WesMiller
Regular Contributor III

If you've already started drawing use the Auto-Complete polygon tool. it's at the bottom of your create features dialog Darren Wiens is correct drawing one large poly and cutting the smaller ones is easier.

SteveSkotnicki
New Contributor

Thank you guys. I see the Auto Complete Polygon tool at the bottom of Complete Features.

If I create one large polygon (say, the outside boundary of the map) and then cut it up into smaller and smaller polygons, doesn't that necessitate beginning at the edge of the map and working inward? This technique seems a little primitive. It is really the most effective method?

0 Kudos