What is the recommended procedure on mapping fractures in ArcGIS (ArcMap 10.2.2)?

09-19-2015 02:19 AM
HoussamHaddad
New Contributor II

I would like to map microfractures in a sample using ArcGIS.

Available Data: A micrograph of the sample under REM (BSE Mode) in a raster format (.jpeg). The contrast was set in a way that the fractures are easy to see. (Black lines over white grains). The raster is not projected, but the scale is known. How can I project the raster accordingly and set the scale?

Goal of the study: To calculate the number of fractures (approx.) and to construct a map of the space orientation of the fractures in order to get an indication of their source.

There seems to be no clear tutorials or literature discussing this method on the forums and discussion boards on the internet. So I hope I find my answer here. Could someone please guide me through the needed steps. I have basic knowledge of ArcGIS.

Thank you in advance and let's keep making the world a happier place

Hasso

0 Kudos
8 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Picture?  see your other post for georeferencing comments.  If you have <100, onscreen digitizing would be your quickest and best bet since the brain is better than any algorithm to perform that task.

HoussamHaddad
New Contributor II

Hello Mr Patterson again and thank you for the support,

here is an example of the fractures I want to map.

Merged.jpg

DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Well if you are talking about the fractures on the bounding features, then you are going to have a problem.  You have speckle in the large black areas, so any filtering is going to cause problems in the other areas..  As a start, you could try looking at filters to remove some of the background noise and enhance fractures...

http://desktop.arcgis.com/en/desktop/latest/tools/spatial-analyst-toolbox/how-filter-works.htm

HoussamHaddad
New Contributor II

Hello Mr. Patterson,