Using Polygons to split landuse map and assign a value to each landuse type

04-18-2017 12:10 AM
GokhanNAS
New Contributor II

Hello There;

I am new to use ESRI and would appreciate your support for below :

Inputs:

1.   Total of 11 land-use (*.grc format) files which represents a country
  2.    A Polygon (*.shp format) file which includes 600 administrative boarder polygons for all country
  3.    A number of population per each polygon

Demanded Output:

1. Split the land-use map in to 600 administrative areas
  2. Read the number of land-use grids.Therefore we can get total number of grids where population can be (excluding the open area, forest, water, sea etc)
  3. Export the no of grids to an excel sheet where we can assign a population value for each land-use type
  4. Assign the calculated values to each land-use type

I would appreciate if an expert can help me to do above step by step.

many thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
DuyguÖcal
New Contributor II

Hello Gokhan,

Your question is very broad but I will try to help. My opinion is that, it is best for your workflow to use Modelbuilder tools. I don't know which version of ArcGIS for Desktop you use but, this tutorial will help you get familiar with Modelbuilder.

http://help.arcgis.com/en/arcgisdesktop/10.0/pdf/creating-tools-in-modelbuilder-tutorial.pdf 

It seems for these steps, you need following tools or processes;

1. Split the land-use map in to 600 administrative area (Merge and Clip)
  2. Read the number of land-use grids.Therefore we can get total number of grids where population can be (excluding the open area, forest, water, sea etc) Spatial query and counting the selected features (Select by Location)
  3. Export the no of grids to an excel sheet where we can assign a population value for each land-use type (Export as Table)
  4. Assign the calculated values to each land-use type (Add Join to the Attribute Table)