using dap2arc and multidimensional tools via python to visualize netdcf results

Jump to solution
05-05-2015 01:15 PM
ashleytarver1
New Contributor II

HI all

Im in a bit of a pickle.  I'm graduating late, and I'm at a roadblock for my thesis.  I need to pull netcdf files into Arc to visualize some results. I've downloaded both the zipped open2arc folder an the multidimensional tool service package, but now I'm stuck. 

Although I am somewhat familiar with Arc, I have no experience with python or programming.  Which text file from the folders I downloaded need to be copy and pasted into the python window under the "geoprocessing" tab in order to make the tools available for use?

Any suggestions are appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Ashley

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor

Hi Ashley,

As everyone might not be familiar with the tools you are using, next time please post links to the downloads you are using, without being able to look at them it would be difficult to help you out.

I'm assuming the MultiDimensional Tool Service Package is the one found here, provided by ESRI.  This file contains the netcdf-python module that came with the download, which the scripts from githib needs to work correctly.  You will need to install the module before any of the scripts work.  As for which scripts, that depends on what you are trying to do.  The Github page for dap2arc has a youtube example video which you may want to look at though the scripts are now in the src folder, not in the layers folder it seems.

Disclaimer: I have never used these tools and my opinion is based on what I have discovered from rsignell-usgs/dap2arc · GitHub  and the video provided.

View solution in original post

27 Replies
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor

Hi Ashley,