SelectByAttribute Problem

08-10-2017 08:13 AM
JonathanUrshan1
New Contributor

Hi, I am trying to write a script that selects a parcel number and writes it to a PDF. I am having trouble with the SelectLayerByAttribute tool.  I am writing the script in PyCharm not in the Python Window of ArcMap. This is what I have gathered from various sources online.  I am pretty sure its an issue with my syntax. Any help would be much appreciated.  This is what I have so far.

import arcpy

mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument(r"//bondserv2/USERS-COUNTY/ahuber/Desktop/Bond.mxd")

parcel = "Parcel_Point"

df = arcpy.mapping.ListDataFrames(mxd, parcel)

layer = arcpy.mapping.ListLayers(mxd, "", df)

arcpy.SelectLayerByAttribute_management(layer, "NEW_SELECTION", "[PIN] = '021101104001'")

I run the SelectLayerByAttribute tool in the python window just like the above code and it works. But trying to get it working in the PyCharm IDE is being a real pain. I'm new to python and arcpy, this is my first attempt at automating some one my everyday tasks.

0 Kudos
11 Replies
XanderBakker
Esri Esteemed Contributor

In your case df is a list of dataframes. Add "[0]" at the end of the line to select the first dataframe from the list. And is "Parcel_point" the name of the dataframe? because that is what you are using in this case.

Same for "layer" which is a list of layers (probably with only one layer in it). Add "[0]" at the end of the command to select the first item of the list

Maybe try this:

import arcpy
mxd = arcpy.mapping.MapDocument(r"//bondserv2/USERS-COUNTY/ahuber/Desktop/Bond.mxd")
parcel = "Parcel_Point"

df = arcpy.mapping.ListDataFrames(mxd, parcel)[0]
layer = arcpy.mapping.ListLayers(mxd, parcel, df)[0]

arcpy.SelectLayerByAttribute_management(layer, "NEW_SELECTION", "[PIN] = '021101104001'")
JonathanUrshan1
New Contributor