Model Builder - Write calculated output to shapefile field

08-26-2013 12:17 PM
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Original User: blingenfelder

I am somewhat new to creating models and have run into a problem with the one that I am currently working on.  My goal is to Iterate rows of one shapefile, "sections", and perform a select by location to find the "tracts" that have their centroid in each section.  Then, I would like to summarize a field for these selected tracts within each section. 

I have successfully done this and output the values to a table, although the table will only keep one record at a time, overwriting the table each time instead of adding a new row.  Even so, I am trying to figure out a way to add this calculated value to a field of the current record in the iteration of my "sections" shapefile.

I have explored the option of trying to do a table join, but I don't think that this will work because of the many to one (tracts to section) relationship and that there is no unique key between the two.  I will attach my script and graphic.  Any advice would help, thanks in advance!

[ATTACH=CONFIG]26997[/ATTACH]

# -*- coding: utf-8 -*-
# ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
# Test.py
# Created on: 2013-08-26 15:08:04.00000
#   (generated by ArcGIS/ModelBuilder)
# Description: 
# ---------------------------------------------------------------------------

# Import arcpy module
import arcpy

# Load required toolboxes
arcpy.ImportToolbox("Model Functions")

# Local variables:
LPMGIS_LEASE_ACTIVE_TRACT = "Core Layers\\LPMGIS.LEASE.ACTIVE_TRACT"
Sections_Result = "Sections_Result"
Sections = "Sections"
I_Sections = "I_Sections_FID"
LPMGIS_LEASE_ACTIVE_TRACT__3_ = "Core Layers\\LPMGIS.LEASE.ACTIVE_TRACT"
grs_acre_sum = "U:\\SectionAcreageTest\\grs_acre_sum"

# Process: Iterate Row Selection
arcpy.IterateRowSelection_mb(Sections, "", "false")

# Process: Select Layer By Location