Select to view content in your preferred language

Join a Feature Class to a Table with Python

06-03-2010 09:56 AM
SteeveDeschenes
Deactivated User
Hi there!!

I am trying to write a script that will "find" the files.  The files are in an ACCESS database and I have several database in several folders.  I am new in scripting and I spend a lot of time trying to figure it out without any success. I feel it should be simple...

This is what I have written so far:

##########################################################################
#Join a table to a feature layer
#Steeve Deschenes
#Carex Canada
#June 2010
#########################################################################

# Import system modules
import sys, string, os, arcgisscripting

# Create the Geoprocessor object
gp = arcgisscripting.create()

# Load required toolboxes...
gp.AddToolbox("C:\Program Files\ArcGIS\ArcToolbox\Toolboxes\Data Management Tools.tbx")

# Local variables...
workingfolder = sys.argv[1]
source = sys.argv[2]
concentration = sys.argv[3]

#Set workspace
gp.Workspace = workingfolder

#Get a list of the feature classes in the input folder
try:
    fcs = gp.ListTables()
    fcs.Reset()
    fc = fcs.Next()
    tables = fc
    i = 1
    #print tables

gp.MakeFeatureLayer_management (source, "tempcoordinate")
    #gp.CopyFeatures_management ("tempcoordinate", "/coordinate.shp")
    gp.AddJoin_management(concentration, "NUMR_ECHN", "tempcoordinate", "NUMR_ECHN_LOCL", "KEEP_ALL")
    gp.CopyFeatures_management (concentration, fc + "/resultat.shp")

except:
    gp.AddError (gp.GetMessages ())
    print gp.GetMessages

With that script, I have few problems:

1-I want to batch the process. It will be very convenient not to select every filesmuself,  but "tell python" where the files are located and let him selecting them.

2-When I run the script I get this message:

Failed to execute. Parameters are not valid.
The value cannot be a table
ERROR 000840: The value is not a Raster Layer.