Iterating through a feature class.

07-27-2015 12:56 PM
DeidreA
New Contributor

Hello everyone!

I am a Python newbie, so forgive me if this question is pretty simple.

I'm trying to iterate through a shapefile feature class. The shapefile contains a bunch of points that I'm trying to clip based on another layer. This is what the script looks like when I do it:

arcpy.Clip_analysis('RF_Acreage', 'Lake_Ontario_Plains_FDRA_Boundary', r'L:\OPP\Rangers\Central Office\GIS\Deidre GIS Reporting Files\testmodel\Modeloutputs.zxgdb')

It works fine on it's own, but I need to do it for multiple regions. so it would be very tedious to clip one by one. So basically my input features will stay as 'RF_Acreage' while I clip it too different features.

Should I be using if statements and for loops? If so, how do I go about stringing these together?

Hopefully I'm making sense. Thanks in advance!

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

Check out the examples and documentation for ListFeatureClasses.

Basically, get the feature classes into a list, then loop through the list.

IanMurray
Frequent Contributor

Also make sure you are naming out of your output features a unique name, otherwise it will either crash or overwrite the features you are creating.

If you have a relatively small number of features, it might be easier to run clip in batch mode rather than write out a script.  As long as you set parameters that stay the same before you add new rows in batch, it will keep the parameters the same for each row.

DeidreA
New Contributor

But I only have 1 feature class I'm working with. I'm trying to clip it into multiple feature classes. Sorry if I wasn't clear. Do I create a list of the one feature class and to a for loop to clip it to different layers?

0 Kudos
IanMurray
Frequent Contributor