Iterate Field Values - Using Value in Select Layer By Attribute

Jump to solution
04-12-2013 07:21 AM
BJMalone
New Contributor
I am trying to build a model that iterates through the unique values of a field, then selects each of those values and calculates another field for that selection.  I'm having trouble passing the Value output from the iteration to the Select Layer by attribute tool.  For example each iteration would output a unique number, lets say 2104, then the Select Layer by Attribute tool would use 2104 as the selection criteria.  The model would iterate through all of the unique values calculating the field for each selected set.  I can't figure out how to get the Select Layer by attribute to use the output Value of the iteration.  Any help would be appreciated.  I am very new to model builder.
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MatthewPayne
Esri Contributor
Try this one.  Be sure to extract the contents from the zip folder first.

Matt

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
25 Replies
MatthewPayne
Esri Contributor
BJ,

Take a look at how the attached model is set up.  I set the input layer as input to both the Iterate Field Values iterator and the Select Layer by Attribute tool.  I used the Value output from the iterator as part of the expression in the Select Layer by Attribute tool.

Matt
0 Kudos
BJMalone
New Contributor
Matt,

Thanks for your help on this.  I am still having an issue.  How can I get the Expression for the Select Layer By Attribute to pull in the Value output from the Iterate Field Values?  The expression needs to be something like FieldName = Value for each iteration.

Thanks
0 Kudos
BJMalone
New Contributor
I used "GridNumber" = %Value% but it does not select anything.
0 Kudos
MatthewPayne
Esri Contributor