How to create buffers around point data with different values?

11-09-2015 03:22 AM
GosiaLubczynska
New Contributor

Dear all,

I have a database with 15 different pollutants measured at 40 stations. So it is a database of 15 columns and 40 rows. What I am trying to achieve is to create maps for each pollutant separately, that show the location of the 20 measurements, the severity of pollution at that particular spot (indicated with the size of an icon) and a buffer around each station with a certain distance from the center, depending on the severity of pollution measured at that particular station.

I am new to ArcGIS and I have now created the maps with graduated symbols, but somehow I cannot find a way to create buffers around the measurements.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

BR,

Gosia

0 Kudos
11 Replies
NeilAyres
MVP Alum

Look in Toolbox / Analysis / Proximity and check the Buffer tool (or the multiple ring buffer).

It sounds like you will have to calculate some distance metric from your "severity".

GosiaLubczynska
New Contributor

Many thanks for the quick reply. I tried that option indeed, but I didn´t manage to get the results displayed yet. I assume that that is because in the selection step you can only select which feature you want to work with, but not which particular column. So many different buffers per point are calculated, but since they all differ, none is visualized.

I have tried several ways of selecting only one column and working solely with that, but so far no success. Any tips?

Best,

Gosia

0 Kudos
NeilAyres
MVP Alum

Errr...

What selection step???

Here is the Buffer tool :

BufferTool.jpg

Input Features : presumably your points

Output Feature Class : what you want to call the output, usually something like MyInputName_Buffer.