Extract Multi Values to Points and Mosaic Dataset

07-05-2016 04:08 PM
ChuckWerstak1
New Contributor II

Hi everyone,

I have a question about geoprocessing tools and Mosaic Dataset. Can the Extract Multi Values to Points tool (or the like e.g., Sample etc.) be used to extract pixel values from a Mosaic Dataset comprised of individual raster images in a stack (monthly climate values) and across non-overlapping tiles (for example, 1x1 degree tiles)?

I’ve tried several different extraction tools but not matter what I do, the same cell value gets extracted for each point location. Further, the value that gets extracted is not contained in any of the raster images. My only suspicion for this later issue is that it’s calculating a summary statistic i.e., mean of the monthly values for the pixels that are coincident with the X, Y coordinate location.

I’m fairly new to using Mosaic Datasets so perhaps it’s merely operator error however; I would expect this to be a standard operation as I have already been performing this using points and individual images with this tool.

Thanks,

Chuck

0 Kudos
25 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

I would expect values to be obtained if everything is in the same coordinate system and single and multiband rasters are supported as per the help Extract Multi Values to Points—Help | ArcGIS for Desktop

0 Kudos
ChuckWerstak1
New Contributor II

Hi Dan,

I expected the same, a new column/field in the feature class for each raster image in the Mosaic Dataset e.g., ppt1, ppt2, ppt3 populated with the corresponding value from the Mosaic Dataset however; in my experience, expectations are usually much different than reality. I could go through and create a new column for each ppt value or, just load each individual ppt image into the tool but, that sorta defeats the purpose of using the Mosaic Dataset. Any ideas?

Thanks,

Chuck

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus