Export Output of Collect Values Tool in Model Builder

03-23-2013 11:48 AM
ShinoRah
New Contributor
Hi There,

I am new to model builder, I have built a model which calculates mean and minimum distance between features. It also counts how many of those near features fall within a given 'buffer' around a feature.

The user can select upto 6 buffer (/radius) lengths.  The tool will run and the final result is an excel file.  The excel file includes how many features fell within that given buffer but does not include the buffer distances that the user manually input in the beginning. 

So for those forgetful users, I'd like to add a column in the excel file that shows the buffer length.  I have added an image to this post, which shows visually what I want, because I'm not sure how coherent this explanation is.

Hopefully there is someone out there who can help me.  I've tried the merge, union and calculate values tool to somehow bring it all together, but no luck.

Thanks in advance!!
0 Kudos
14 Replies
curtvprice
MVP Esteemed Contributor
I've tried the merge, union and calculate values tool to somehow bring it all together, but no luck.

I think Calculate Value is the tool you need to use.

Make the output for your merge (right before you export to Excel, renamed "OutputTable" below) a precondition to Calculate Value - then have your calculate value tool look something like this:

Expression:

AddRadiusField(r"%OutputTable%","%RadiusColumns%")

Code block:

import os
import arcpy
def RadiusTable(rc,tbl):
  arcpy.AddField(tbl,"RADIUS","FLOAT")
  rc = ";".split(rc)
  Rows = arcpy.UpdateCursor(tbl)
  k = 0
  for Row in Rows:
    Row.setValue("RADIUS",rc)
    k += 1
  del Row, Row
  return tbl

Data Type:

table

Then connect its output to your export to Excel tool.
0 Kudos
ShinoRah
New Contributor

Expression:

Hi Curtis,

Thank you for your response.  I have included another photo to show how I am trying to incorporate your great advice.