Dissolve error in 10.3

04-19-2015 01:14 PM
StanaforthHopkins
New Contributor II

After successfully dissolving a line shapefile into a one feature shapefile, the dissolve geoprocessing function consistently malfunctions on successive tries for any shapefile. I'm running on Windows 7 Professional on an HP Pavilion Dv6 Notebook with 64-bit i3 CPU and 4 GB RAM. I'd bet anything that it's an ESRI problem though.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

and you rebooted ​ and renamed your default template and/or profile to see if that solved the problem?

StanaforthHopkins
New Contributor II

Thanks for the info, but I'm new to these ideas. HELP seems to have a number of templates and profiles. Could you be more specific on the cause of and the fix for the probem?.

0 Kudos
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Stanaforth, try looking at ​Resetting your ArcGIS application profile  for help on resetting/refreshing your profile.

StanaforthHopkins
New Contributor II

Thanks Rebecca, but resetting all three didn't do the trick.

Looking harder at the error messge, I decided to rename MdDigContent.htm. A reboot of ArcGIS created a new one, but the problem is still the same!

0 Kudos
SepheFox
Frequent Contributor

Have you seen this article, Stanaforth? ArcGIS Geoprocessing Tools Scripting Error | GISNuts.com Perhaps it will help.

DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Nice catch Sephe!!! explains why I have never seen it...I never use arccatalog except to create a new network dataset​

0 Kudos
StanaforthHopkins
New Contributor II

I followed the procedure in the scripting error report mentioned by Stephe and was unsuccessful. I tried all four versions of security level (Medium,Medium-High) and ArcGIS Geoprocessing Tools Scripting Error (Enable,Disable) and was careful to reboot ARCGis each time. I think I'll hang up this problem for awhile. Too time intensive.