Create line features between point features within a given distance

11-27-2020 02:51 AM
PatrickGreber
New Contributor II

Good morning everybody!

I'm currently working on a small GIS-Project regarding Network-Analysis. First I wanted to develop a network between certain wetland areas. I have created a point feature class in the centre of each wetland polygon. Now i try to connect these points with lines to create a network I can work with. Is there a tool that is able to connect each point feature with other point featues in a distance of 1300 Meters through a line?

In a next step I would like to adapt the distance regarding ecological and topographical information, through a cost-distance or multi-criteria analysis. Would this tool from step one be able to integrate such a cost-distance analysis and only connect point features within an adapted distance?

I'm really new to this with little expirience and grateful for any support =)! 

wetland_areas.jpg

Thank you in advance for your help 😃

0 Kudos
7 Replies
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

It's a bit dated, but the technique should still be the same

Connect point to closest feature in ArcGIS 10.2 - Geographic Information Systems Stack Exchange

generate a near table and then create the lines from that. (I guess you delete any table values over 1300 before you generate the lines)

As to the other questions, it might be better to state what you want to achieve rather than us helping you with a solution you've proposed.

0 Kudos
PatrickGreber
New Contributor II

Yes, that would totally help! As a part of a school exercise, I need to do a network analaysis and calculate centrality measures of a network. But first I have to generate such a network by myself.