Calculating rooftop slope angle from DSM/DTM

04-15-2020 04:27 AM
OwainKril
New Contributor

I'm new to ArcGIS so sorry if this seems trivial at all.
I'm trying to find the slope angle of roofs. I have the DSM and DTM of my area and then drawn polygons over each rooftop. I have used zonal statistics which has found the Standard deviation of the slope but i'm not sure how to convert this to a degree/percentage value. I also feel like there must be an easier way of doing this that i dont know about. 

My overall goal is trying to find suitable roofs to convert to a green roof. so if anyone knows of any completely different ways to get all the data and outputs id need for that then that would be amazing  .

Any help would be greatly appreciated,
Thanks.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
KrishnaSunglieng
New Contributor II

Have you found any luck on gathering slope values? I am working on a similar project and I am now facing the same problem.

0 Kudos
OwainKril
New Contributor

Sadly i haven't found a way. Rooftops, especially those of buildings in cities produce vary varied values so its very difficult to tell slope without just looking on google earth. I know you can use the 3D analyst tool to produce a value if you're not analyzing many buildings and want to do it manually. but still unsure what to do for a large amount. 

I'm currently trying to eliminate buildings from my focus area by removing listed buildings/churches/open top multistory car parks etc, and then try to come up with something for what remains. 

0 Kudos
KrishnaSunglieng
New Contributor II

Thanks for the input Owain. I'm going to eliminate buildings from my focus area before processing as well. Thanks again!

0 Kudos
__invited__bhavya_kausika
New Contributor

Owain Kril‌ A bit late but here are two methods you could try.

1. create a slope raster using your DSM/DTM and then use zonal stats to extract the slope values