Angle between internal polyline line segments

10-28-2010 07:19 AM
AustinDavis
New Contributor III
Hello,

Is there a way to find the angle between internal polyline segments?  I do not want to find the azimuth or bearing of each line segment; but rather, the "turn angle" at each segment junction if one was to travel along the entire polyline. I am using ArcGIS 9.3-- Any help would be much appreciated!
0 Kudos
3 Replies
AustinDavis
New Contributor III
Thanks- I'll take a look at it!

I've yet to program in python but I have a lot of VB experience.
0 Kudos
KimOllivier
Occasional Contributor III
If all you want is the bearing differences of vertices within a single polyline then a cursor can step through the vertices and calculate the angles like this:
# vertex_angle.py
# find change in angle along a polyline at each vertex
# assume :
# in a projected coordinate system, not dd
# don't know what to do with output, maybe add value to a point
# Kim Ollivier
# 29 October 2010
#
import arcgisscripting
import math
import sys

gp = arcgisscripting.create(9.3)

try:
    inlay = sys.argv[1]
except :
    inlay = "d:/work/test.gdb/wiggle"
desc = gp.Describe(inlay)
shapefield = desc.ShapeFieldName
cur = gp.SearchCursor(inlay)
row = cur.next()
n = 0
m = 0
p = 0
while row:
    feat = row.getValue(shapefield)
    print "Feature",n
    for partNum in range(feat.partCount) :
        part = feat.getPart(partNum)
        ptLast = None
        bearingLast = None
        print "Part",m
        for ptNum in range(part.count):
            pt = part.next() 
            if ptLast:
                bearing = math.atan2((pt.Y - ptLast.Y),(pt.X - ptLast.X))
                if bearingLast:
                    delta = bearing - bearingLast
                    print p,delta/math.pi*180.0
                bearingLast = bearing
            ptLast = pt
            p+=1
        m+=1
    n+=1
    row = cur.next()
del cur,row