Accessing AGOL from ArcMap

08-31-2014 04:07 PM
JaniceMock
New Contributor

I cannot access AGOL from ArcMap and am unable to download maps, data or layers from AGOL through the "Add Data" tool (neither through the toolbar nor under "file"). I am able to log on to AGOL through ArcMap, but still unable to access data there for my.

I am a graduate GIS student and using a Student version of ArcGIS, which does not come with AGOL.  But I do have an ESRI Global account for AGOL, which should allow me to access online reference maps and layers.

Any help greatly appreciated.  I need this data for a school project!

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

I am having a similar issue.  I cannot access the ArcGIS Online or ArcGIS Online Basemap options in ArcMap.  I can chose the option to add data but then ArcMap sort of freezes.  ArcMap doesn't shut down, but I can't click on anything.  Almost as if the AGOL windows are opening off screen.  I too can login to AGOL. 

Same result if I go to File, Add data, AGOL...ArcMap freezes but doesn't close.

0 Kudos
V_StuartFoote
MVP Frequent Contributor

Janice Mock‌, Justin Shedd

Before you can add data from AGOL, you have to sign-in to it from within ArcMap,  done from the drop down File menu. And that is a two step process... sign-in, and then launch the AGOL dialog window.

Steps are in this online Help: Signing in to ArcGIS Online in ArcGIS for Desktop applications  and once the sign-in completes, use the File --> "ArcGIS Online..." button and you should see an ArcGIS Online dialog as in the Help item: Using ArcGIS Online in ArcGIS for Desktop applications

Once the dialog opens, it will show "featured" content. Best for finding content if you run a search, but first will need to uncheck the "Only Search in [your AGOL organization]" check box.

Stuart

0 Kudos
V_StuartFoote
MVP Frequent Contributor

Janice Mock‌, Justin Shedd