Coordinates Conversion

03-26-2015 07:17 PM
Stephanie_AnneCerado
New Contributor

Hi,

I'm new to GIS and we have this application that would get a data from an outside system which uses Google Map. We need to convert the coordinates since our map is using a different coordinate system (Philippine Zone III).

Is there an API or any available formula which I could use as a reference to solve this issue?

Thanks

0 Kudos
7 Replies
TimothyKippo
New Contributor III

Hi Stephanie

I am assuming that the data is arriving into ArcMap in some format.  If the data has it's coordinate system defined then it is as simple as using the project tool (Data Management tools -> Projections and Transformations -> Feature) on it to convert it to a featureclass in Philippine Zone III.  If the raw data doesn't have it's projection defined, and coming from Google, you should be able to define it's projection to WGS84 (using the define projection tool in Data Management tools -> Projections and Transformations).

I have run into trouble doing this before where my geographic projection simply won't transform to a projected system no matter how I do it.  To get around this what I did was create a feature dataset with my desired coordinate system defined, then imported the data into the feature dataset.  This worked, forcing the data to conform to my will.  I like when data does that.  That's just a work around in case things go illogical and crazy that does tend to happen from time to time in the GIS world.

Outside of ArcMap I haven't explored coordinate transformations since University, which would probably be obsolete by now, and is rapidly becoming a distant memory.  Let us know how you go.

Cheers,

Tim

0 Kudos
Stephanie_AnneCerado
New Contributor

Hi Timothy,

Hmn... The data from the outside source will be stored in our SQL Table for now...