Spatial referencing netCDF to Raster images

01-10-2013 05:23 AM
JoelDavis
New Contributor
Hello,

I'm fairly new to arcGIS and am trying to create some raster images from datasets of the ocean floor, showing how their depth has changed throughout time. I downloaded a series of text files from the earthbyte.org website and converted them to grid format (NetCDF files) using GMT using instructions on the readme. I then used used the "Make NetCDF raster layer" tool in Arcmap (10) to create a series of individual raster images, which worked fine.

The issue I'm having is how to spatial reference them. As far as I can tell from the website, the data should be projected in WSG1984, however the rasters I have just display as having an unknown projection. Additionally, I've tried to re-project the images to WSG1984 using advice from other forums, however, this hasn't worked.

I'd be grateful if anyone could give me some tips or point out where I'm going wrong.

Thanks,

Joel
0 Kudos
5 Replies
JulieEkstrom
New Contributor II
I had the same problem!
Here's the note that someone posted on my plea for help last week:

"I was having a similar problem. I used the Make NetCDF Raster Layer tool to create a couple of rasters (SST data), and it imports and projects fine, but no spatial reference. I tried using the "Define Projection" tool in ArcToooolbox within ArcMap and from within Catledog, all works fine, big green flashing tick, but still no spatial reference!? But get this, if you right click the raster in Catalog and then edit the Spatial reference, and choose appropriate projection, it works... go figure... another Arc-mystery."

His post is at this: http://forums.arcgis.com/threads/74063-netCDF-to-feature-raster-problems?p=265033&posted=1#post26503...

hope that helps.

julie
JUSTINEFEDERICI
New Contributor

This post from years ago has saved me tonight! Thanks!

0 Kudos
markdenil
Occasional Contributor III