SDE and organising Feature Classes & Feature Datsets

11-27-2013 04:29 PM
timdunlevie
Occasional Contributor
Hi,

We are in the process of migrating to a SQL database with SDE.
I am new to SDE...
What I am trying to get my head around is how to "organise" all my feature classes from around the world in SDE (I've come from a file server environment).
Most (if not all) our feature classes don't require topological relationship, and therefore don't require a Feature Dataset.

So the question is, is it good practise to simply organise one big bin of feature classes in SDE and use a good naming convention to distinguish areas around the world where this data is associated to ?

I can then "sort" this data either as .lyr files, or as File geodatabases on the server for the users...

Thanks,
Tim
0 Kudos
9 Replies
VinceAngelo
Esri Esteemed Contributor
It's worst practice, if you will, to use feature datasets as folders to organize feature classes,
but there aren't a lot of attractive alternatives.

There are a number of possible ways to partition data that are considered "best practice":

• Into databases (if they'll never be used together [except as independent map layers],

• and you're not using Oracle, which [until 12c] didn't support the concept)
  • Using owners/schemas

• Using table names

So yes, you are certainly on the right track, but I would have you think about users and
databases as well.

- V
0 Kudos
timdunlevie
Occasional Contributor
It's worst practice, if you will, to use feature datasets as folders to organize feature classes,

There are a number of possible ways to partition data that are considered "best practice":

• Into databases (if they'll never be used together [except as independent map layers],

• and you're not using Oracle, which [until 12c] didn't support the concept)
  • Using owners/schemas

• Using table names

So yes, you are certainly on the right track, but I would have you think about users and
databases as well.

- V

thanks V.