Select to view content in your preferred language

Raster To Geodatabase Automation

Jump to solution
03-27-2013 02:59 PM
TonyWu
by
Emerging Contributor
Hello all,

I currently have over 4000 .tif raster data that have to be loaded into a SDE Raster Catalog in ArcGIS 9.3.1.  I had been manually uploading 1800 in batches using the Raster to Geodatabase (multiple) tools.  I want to look into python script for the automation of the process. 

Details of the data: All the .tifs are in 1 folder, 18mbs each, 8bits and JPEG compression (the purpose is for visual purpose so dont have to perform and image analysis)

I am very new to python script so if anyone of you can point me to the right direction.

I have found this old Batch Raster to GDB python script and modified to my specifics...

## Script Name: raster2gdb.py
## Description: Imports a raster into a geodatabase.
#-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# function usage
#-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
def usage():
print " USAGE: raster2gdb.py <raster> <geodatabase>"
sys.exit(1)
# function bailout
def bailout(errMsg):
print " ERROR: "+errMsg
sys.exit(0)
#===============================================================================
# main routine
#===============================================================================
import sys, string, os, arcgisscripting

gp = arcgisscripting.create()

gp.AddToolbox("C:/Program Files (x86)/ArcGIS/ArcToolbox/Toolboxes/Conversion Tools.tbx")

# first argument is the input raster
try:
InRaster = "G:\\Teranet2013\\Simcoe_2012_tiles\\final\\ORTH175820495802012FBS.tif"
except:
usage()

# second argument is the geodatabase to import the raster into
try:
OutGDB = "Database Connections\\Connection to PSGISTEST01-Raster.sde\\Raster.PSGIS.SimcoeRegion"
except:
usage()

# does raster exist?
if not gp.exists(InRaster):
bailout("Raster "+InRaster+" does not exist")
# does geodatabase exist?