NLCD2006 Raster file skewed

07-11-2012 10:07 AM
PatrickMiller
New Contributor
Hello,

I'm having an issue with a raster file pulled from seamless.usgs.gov. I attached an image showing my problem. The NLCD raster is skewed compared to my area of study (blue area). The raster has a Spatial Reference: USA Contiguous Albers Equal Area Conic USGS Version , whereas the area of study has a projection NAD_1983_HARN_StatePlane_Illinois_East_FIPS_1201. I have tried changing the raster spatial reference, which "corrects" the skewedness however places it in a very different location in ArcMap.

I've tried a bunch of different options from Rotating the Raster to trying different ways of clipping the raster data to align with my area of study. Any thoughts would be appreciated! I'm still learning all of this so i usually don't post a question unless i hit a wall....and I have been hitting the wall for the past two days.

Thank you in advance!

pat
0 Kudos
5 Replies
JeffreySwain
Esri Regular Contributor
What transformation are you using in the map document?  Have you considered projecting the data into Illinois Harn?  I would recommend either of those options, depending on your workflow.  Setting the correct transformation in the map document or using the correct transformation to project the data should fix the "skew."  In this blog, it discusses how to choose the desired transformation.
0 Kudos
xicheng
New Contributor
Hi,Patrick

I suggest you import the NLCD's projection into the transfer process and make sure
choose the "Bilinear" resampling method.
I believe it will works!

Xi
0 Kudos
PatrickMiller
New Contributor
Thank you for your responses. I'm still missing something though. I have tried setting the Data Frame Coordinate System to the IL_HARN, then adding the raster data through transforming the NLCD raster file -> Convert From: GCS_North_American_1983   Into: GCS_North_American_1983_HARN  Using:  NAD_1983_to_HARN_Illlinois