Migrating from oracle to PostgreSQL 9.2

11-05-2013 01:14 PM
ESRIESRI1
New Contributor II
Hello All,

We have huge database with several feature class on oracle (ArcSDE 10) which need to migrate to postgreSQL9.2. I am new to postgreSQL , I could not find direct way other than exporting to shapefile and re-importing.  ESRI help provides method using pg_dump command, can any one give step by step procedure to execute the same or point to me correct tutorial to execute the same.

Please help me on this.
0 Kudos
13 Replies
VinceAngelo
Esri Esteemed Contributor
There are likely more than a dozen ways to migrate this data, but the top options
include:

• Drag-n-drop with ArcGIS

• XML schema

• File geodatabase

• sdeexport

• ASCII

• Personal geodatabase

Each and every one is better than using shapefiles.  Do not ever use shapefiles
to transfer SQL data -- there is simply too much data lost in translation.

- V
0 Kudos
ESRIESRI1
New Contributor II
Thanks Vince. Can you give URL/link to find step by step procedure do the same. I do not want to use ESRI Tools for the data migration.

Hope am not bothering you much. Thanks again.
0 Kudos
VinceAngelo
It's not possible to give step-by-step instructions for an inadequately defined task.
Removing the best tools available from consideration only makes your task much
more difficult.  If you have no intention of using Esri tools, then looking to an Esri
Forum for solutions seems counterproductive.

- V
0 Kudos
ESRIESRI1
New Contributor II