How to Creat a Good Clean Dbase

09-17-2014 09:35 AM
EverardoBalboa
New Contributor

Good morning, I am new to Dbase Development.

Project:

I have a table with Oil/Gas Operators and every the facilities that they operate.  I wanted to create a Master Table with All contact information.  Then I wanted to create Tables for Chemicals that they use.  Everyone uses diffrent chemicals at different locations.  Sometimes they use multiple chemicals in a single facility.

Ideal Situation

One Table that with Link to Chemical TableI(s) up to 31 different chemicals.  Again all of them different.

Obstacles.  I have the master file and created 31 table each will capture chemicals, but it is only working with one record.  When I go to Records 2 and click on the Chemical table it wants to replace the existing data.  How can I get it to where master file has two records and the chemical tables to follow each record from the master file.  I am doing this in Acces which eventually will make a connection to ArcGIS.

Thank You

Eve

0 Kudos
8 Replies
AsrujitSengupta
Regular Contributor III

personal_geodatabase‌managing_data‌data management‌access‌

Managing Data

Just adding tags and mentioning a relevant group so that you can get a better response. if possible move this question to the Managing Data‌ place for a wider audience.

0 Kudos
EverardoBalboa
New Contributor

How do I move it to Managing Data?

0 Kudos
AsrujitSengupta
Regular Contributor III
0 Kudos
EverardoBalboa
New Contributor

Thank you.  Getting use to this.

0 Kudos
TedKowal
Occasional Contributor III

I am only guessing what your are asking .....   You will have to add a third table to track what chemicals each facility needs.  Pictured below is a relationship that was made to allow multiple chemicals of the same type to multiple facilities.  I also attached a working database with an example query called ChemicalsNeededByFacilities.

Hope this helps,

Ted

NeedAThirdTable.png

0 Kudos
EverardoBalboa
New Contributor