Dynamic domain based on a table?

Jump to solution
05-03-2022 04:31 PM
PaulRichard
New Contributor II

I am familiar with database concepts, but I am still new to data modelling in the ArcGIS world. Based on my learning so far, I thought I would be using domains to achieve the desired result of restricting possible options for an attribute, but am beginning to doubt that now.

I would like to put together a pair of related tables. The first will contain all available streets types and second the actual streets constrained by the types listed in the first table using the equivalent of a foreign key constraint.

First table's attributes:

• Unique Key (ID) as a string
  • Street Type Name
  • Street Type Abreviation

Example record : ST, "Street", "St."

Second table's attributes:

• Unique Key (ID) as a string
  • Street Name
  • Street Type Unique Key
  • Street Direction

Example record : MN1, Main, ST, "East"

As you can see, my intention is that the third attribute of the second table is constrainted by the IDs of the first table (ST in my examples).

When I started looking at domains, I was assuming that a domain could be dynamically based on a table and so as new entries are added to the underlying table, the domain's list of available options also grows. Is this not the case? Is there another mechanism I should be looking at to accomplish this?

Cheers,

Paul

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

You've hit the nail on the head. A relationship class is precisely what you need for this.

As far as utilizing constraints, you won't get that with a relationship class by default, but an Attribute Rule can do this. Strictly speaking, two tables don't even need to be related to have attribute rules enforcing constraints between them, but having relationship classes can make it a bit easier to pull attributes from the corresponding table.

- Josh Carlson
Kendall County GIS

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
jcarlson