Display points in a point feature class

02-15-2014 02:56 PM
BrianLeo
New Contributor
Hi,

I'm new to GIS and I am having a problem with getting my point feature class to display the data points on the map.  I have a point feature class with an attribute table that contains UTM coordinate columns.  How do I get each point to display on the map?

Thanks

Brian
0 Kudos
4 Replies
WilliamCraft
MVP Regular Contributor
Hi,

I'm new to GIS and I am having a problem with getting my point feature class to display the data points on the map.  I have a point feature class with an attribute table that contains UTM coordinate columns.  How do I get each point to display on the map?

Thanks

Brian

Please provide the exact version of the ArcGIS Desktop software you are using (e.g., 9.3.1, 10.0 SP1, 10.2.1).  You indicate that you have a point feature class with "UTM coordinate columns"... so are you saying that you have a feature class projected in a UTM coordinate system or are you saying that you have a table which has two columns containing X and Y coordinate values?  What I'm really getting at here is to identify whether or not your table has a spatial column (usually called SHAPE) or not.  If what you have is actually a feature class, then there shouldn't be an issue when viewing it in ArcMap.  Are you getting an error or are no points showing up?  Are you sure there are records in the table to begin with?  If what you have is a table with X and Y columns containing values, then you need to utilize the Add XY Event Layer tool.  If you are looking at the "feature class" that you have in ArcCatalog, are you able to preview the spatial contents in the Preview tab or is there only an option to view its attributes in table format?
0 Kudos
RobertBorchert
Frequent Contributor III
When you add your point feature class to an ArcGIS session it should automatically display each point as a point with a color.

Is your point feature class a shapefile or from a geodatabase?