creating candidate layer

07-14-2015 06:47 PM
nirodhaneupane
New Contributor

Hi there,

I am still a beginner to gis and I am trying to do a network analysis for finding optimum litter bins in an area. I already have data for existing litter bins however I need to create data for candidate litter bins which could be an option to place a litter bin in that area. With placing litter bins in that area, there is no restriction, so what could be a best way to locate candidate layer using network analysis?

Many thanks

Nirodha

0 Kudos
7 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

determine the 'service area' for the existing bins based on some perception of what would be the optimal spacing of the bins (say every 200 -250 meters).  Once you discover the areas delineated by the existing bins you will get some idea whether your guess is appropriate or needs modification.  If the areas for the existing bins seem appropriately spaced, then the empty intervening space will give you some idea as to where new bins can be placed. 

Always explore the existing data first...they are there for a reason...could be inter bin spacing...could be proximity to stores/restaurants/fast food locations or a variety of other reasons.  Once you understand that, then you can proceed to placement.  Think about it...there is no reason to place bins at finite distance increments along a road, when placing them at rest stops makes sense.

Next post from you...show your pattern, the visuals will help readers get other ideas.

nirodhaneupane
New Contributor

Thank you Dan,

It really helps. I have attached the pattern of litter bins in the study area.

litter bins.jpg

Many thanks

Nirodha

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Nirodha...

First impressions:

• ​what are the reddish areas?  building? (I hope not) buildings plus stuff?
  • there are some linear patterns within the data, suggesting paths....where are those?