best way to convert a csv file with UTM to lat long

06-16-2016 08:33 AM
MarinaMeter
New Contributor III

I have a huge amount of .csv files each with hundreds of rows and each has its own value of an easting and northing

How can i quickly change these UTM coordinates and convert them to a lat/long  coordinate value using ArcMap.

What might you suggest is the most efficient method? Im very new to this, so any help and details is greatly apprecaited

0 Kudos
39 Replies
HectorBorro1
Occasional Contributor

I have fond that the winning combination for tackling these kind of issues is using ArcGIS + FME which handles files wonderfully and can make the transformations you are looking to make a breeze. It works wonders by reprojecting  You can download a fully working trial at FME Desktop | Data Integration & Productivity | Safe Software

Give it a try and let me know how it goes. You can try using the  tool AttributeReprojector:

Sorry if I mention another tool instead of solving the issue with ESRIs software, but I really had great experience working with this software combo. BTW, I'm just a regular FME user and not affiliated with them.

0 Kudos
MarinaMeter
New Contributor III

Thanks for the information Hector, the tools look awesome from FME, unfortunately the cost ranges from $6400 to 20k, this is a bit expensive for my company and will not pass go! Even using the trial only band aids my problem, im looking for a long term solution this this using the tools that I have, i appreciate your help in any event

thank you kindly

marina

0 Kudos
HectorBorro1
Occasional Contributor

Oh yes, I know what you mean. I made the case to my bosses on the basis $2250USD would save a lot in processing time and faster workarounds for the analysis and we are now seriously considering buying the standard desktop version. but I digress...

Have you tried using the Project—Data Management toolbox | ArcGIS for Desktop tool?