Adding XY Data from Excel

06-21-2013 07:18 AM
JenniferRamey
New Contributor II
I am new to ArcGIS and have been to the basic courses but I'm not understanding how to get my Excel spreadsheet into my Arcmap. I have created a spreadsheet that has longitude and latitude decimal format that I am wanting to be able to plot on my map.  I can get the data into the map but it does not appear to be plotting correctly.  My X axis is my long and my Y axis is my lat, I have the coordinate system set.  Please help.
Tags (2)
34 Replies
RyanMcDermott
New Contributor
MBoucher21, thanks for the response.  I changed the format that my data was in to the xls format.  I am still running into the same problem of when I add the X,Y data I don't get any information in the x or y field drop down menus.  Any ideas?
0 Kudos
michaelcollins1
Occasional Contributor III
you should probably convert the coordinates to decimal degrees first
0 Kudos
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor
you should probably convert the coordinates to decimal degrees first

In fact, you must convert to decimal degrees (or another number-only format) first. The dropdown lists only populate for numeric fields. When you bring Excel spreasheets into ArcMap, it assumes the datatype for each field. Since your lat/longs are in D/M/S it sees non-numeric characters, so it must be text.

As a side note, you must remove special characters and spaces from spreadsheet column names before importing into ArcMap.
0 Kudos
MarkBoucher
In Excel, you can define a named range for the data or define the headings on the columns. Not sure if you have to do this or not. It has has been a while since I've done this and I don't have time to test my suggestion out right now.
0 Kudos
MarkBoucher
As a side note, you must remove special characters and spaces from spreadsheet column names before importing into ArcMap.
  This is correct. Spaces can't be in the names. Use the "_" character.
0 Kudos
jamiefenton
New Contributor