Adding XY Data from Excel

06-21-2013 07:18 AM
JenniferRamey
New Contributor II
I am new to ArcGIS and have been to the basic courses but I'm not understanding how to get my Excel spreadsheet into my Arcmap. I have created a spreadsheet that has longitude and latitude decimal format that I am wanting to be able to plot on my map.  I can get the data into the map but it does not appear to be plotting correctly.  My X axis is my long and my Y axis is my lat, I have the coordinate system set.  Please help.
Tags (2)
34 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable
Hi Jennifer,

You can use the Make" rel="nofollow" target="_blank">http://resources.arcgis.com/en/help/main/10.1/index.html#//0017... XY Event Layer tool to project your data in ArcMap.  You can also just add the excel table and right click on it and choose 'Display XY Data'.  For both the tool and the second option you will be asked to specify the Lat/Long fields.  Good luck!
NicoleCarlozo
New Contributor
I usually go to File -> Add Data -> Add XY Data. Specify the x/y fields and Coordinate System there. Then you can export the data into a shapefile. Sometimes it helps to open a new MXD.
0 Kudos
BrockWahl
New Contributor
I am new to ArcGIS and have been to the basic courses but I'm not understanding how to get my Excel spreadsheet into my Arcmap. I have created a spreadsheet that has longitude and latitude decimal format that I am wanting to be able to plot on my map.  I can get the data into the map but it does not appear to be plotting correctly.  My X axis is my long and my Y axis is my lat, I have the coordinate system set.  Please help.

Are the points plotting at all?  If they are not it may be a conflict issue with the projection and the data frame.  Is there existing data in the map or just the excel file? 

If the points are not plotting at all, the field which the xy data is in may be of text format or general format which will not convert on the fly when bringing into ArcGIS.
0 Kudos
JenniferRamey