Attribute Rule to Related Table

02-04-2021 07:47 AM
LindseyStone
Occasional Contributor III

I'm not good with attribute rule coding and needing a little help.  I'm trying to set up an attribute rule where it will take a field data from a layer and auto populate a field in the related table with the same data.  I have run across a few threads where you are populating the layer for the table but not this way.  Here is my example (I'm using a SDE SQL)

Hydrant Device Feature Class is Related to Hydrant Maintenance Inspection Table.  I want the Utility_AssetID field in Hydrant Device to auto-populate the Utility_AssetID field in the Hydrant Maintenance Inspection Table upon creation of the inspection.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
JohannesLindner
MVP Frequent Contributor

If Utility_AssetID is NOT the field relating these tables (i.e. you have another field that is shared by both), you can do it this way:

// rule in Inspection table
// triggers: insert, update
// field: Utility_AssetID

// value of shared field
var key = $feature["SharedField"]

// search for related features in Hydrant Devices FC
var hydrant_devices = FeatureSetByName($datastore, "NameOfHydrantDevicesFC", ["SharedField", "Utility_AssetID"], false)
var filtered_devices = Filter(hydrant_devices, "SharedField = @key")

// no related features found
if(Count(filtered_devices) == 0) {
  return null
}

// related feature(s) found -> return Utility_AssetID of the first one
return First(filtered_devices)["Utility_AssetID"]

If Utility_AssetID IS the field relating your FC and table (i.e. it's the only field telling you to which hydrant an inspection belongs), you can't do this with an Attribute Rule (at least not that I know of).

What you can do in this case:

• create a Relationship Class between the FC and the table
  • in ArcGIS Pro: select a hydrant
  • open the Attributes pane (Map/Edit --> Selection --> Attributes)