Can I configure WAB online, then customize locally?

Jump to solution
10-28-2014 11:41 AM
ScottThomas1
New Contributor III

I'm just getting started with WAB. I have configured a few test apps online and found that I could get pretty far with that interface, but still needed more customization. I recently got access to Beta 3 and set it up on my server. I can see that customizing every aspect locally will take some time. My question is this: Can I configure the bulk of my app online, then download that code so I can do the final adjustments locally? If so, how do I get access to the code generated using the online interface?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MichaelJenkins
Occasional Contributor III

Scott, I might know what happened if we did the same thing.   The documentation for the WAB says "The app created by Web AppBuilder can be downloaded and hosted on your web server. Any app that is downloaded must be registered..."

Download app—Web AppBuilder for ArcGIS (Beta) | ArcGIS

Then it proceeds to tell you to search for "web appbuilder" and then download a file called "webappviewer" and then goes on to tell you how to configure it using JSON config files.

I think that is very misleading.  As far as I can tell, the app that you have configured online with WAB cannot then be downloaded.   These instructions have you downloading the unconfigured viewer, not the Web App Builder.    Even though when you search for "web appbuilder" the search results describe what you are going to download as being the WAB, instead you end up with the viewer.  The screenshot even shows the web app builder interface.

http://kingcounty.maps.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=fffd70b754594c54bc58d90d4e897e19

I figured out hat what you really need to do is go here:

https://betacommunity.esri.com/home.html  and download the WebApp Builder (Developer addition).