Select to view content in your preferred language

benefits of network attributes

Jump to solution
10-22-2023 08:02 AM
GISUN
by
Emerging Contributor

dear GIS folks i am new to the Utility network, and I am asking what is the real benefit of network attributes, I found that Esri say "to aid in performance while attributes are evaluated during a trace or while performing" so does it just for enhancements or performance which mean If I can all tasks/workflow with none of them but with low performance. isn't!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RobertKrisher
Esri Regular Contributor

@GISUN If you need to refer to an attribute in order to control tracing or calculate summary statistics, you need to make it a network attribute. Normal attributes are not available in the Trace or Set Subnetwork Definition tools. With that being said, I recommend you download one of the Utility Network Foundations to learn how each industry uses different network attributes to control tracing and produce statistics for their subnetworks.

If you want to include an attribute value in tracing/analysis it needs to be defined and validated as part of the network, this ensure that as we are loading the topology for analysis, we are also loading all the attributes required for analysis. You can imagine that if we didn't store this information with the topology and we needed to query individual features (or cache entire areas of the map) as we were evaluating the topology that this would be quite slow!

View solution in original post

7 Replies
JesGooch
Esri Contributor

Hi!