Updating Surveys and Hosted Feature Service Layer

01-11-2018 10:10 AM
JoshHabel
Occasional Contributor

Hello,

I have a published survey created in Survey123 Connect that has its feature service layer tied to a webmap, dashboard and a web app.  Is there a way to make changes to the survey without having to rebuild my webmap, dashboard, and web app.  I am new to using Survey and have not quite perfected what i want on of my forms.  On several occasions now i've needed to add questions or make other tweaks to the survey form that have not allowed me to republish the survey through Connect.  Each time i have had to delete my feature service layer to publish which breaks my webmap, dashboard, and web app.  This is extremely frustrating and takes considerable time to get things back to where i want them.  It seems like there would be an easier way to do this.  Does anybody have any suggestions?

Thanks,

Josh

0 Kudos
14 Replies
BrandonArmstrong
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi Josh,

As of Survey123 Connect version 2.5.44, the ability to add new fields to a survey no longer requires the feature service to be re-created in....  I am wondering if you are at the latest version?

Another option would be to use the Survey123 web creator in order to create/update your surveys.  By doing this, you will always have the ability to add/remove/alter questions without limitation using the 'Design' feature within the Survey123 website.  Keep in mind, some functionality does differ between Survey123 Connect and the Survey123 web creator...

What are some of the other updates that have required you to overwrite your feature service using Survey123 Connect?  Taking a look at the Submission URL property may also be of interest to you. 

JoshHabel
Occasional Contributor

Brandon,