Pulldata not working - Survey123 newbie!

01-06-2022 07:15 AM
mroberts_troy
New Contributor II

Hey everyone!  I'm relatively new to using Survey123 and XLSForms, so I'm going to ask a question that's been asked a million times before, I'm sure, but I did a lot of looking around and my understanding of how Survey123 & XLSForms is so un-sophisticated that I was just getting lost.  Apologies for being repetative here.

Problem statement:  I want to do a multiple level lookup so that when I select "Job", "Phase", and "Team member" that my next drop down has the default value for that person's role on that job and phase, BUT if a user wants to change their role, they can, using a drop down.

My effort so far:  I created a CSV file that will have all the jobs and all the phases and all the people (right now it's just a sample set for testing), and then created a column that concatenated those and assigned them each roles.  Again, right now this is purely dummy data for testing.

In my XLSForm, I have a drop down for job (general_job), a drop down for phase (general_phases), and a drop down for people (labor_level1).  Next, I created a text field that displays a concatenation which combines the displayed labels for each of those things, using the jr:choice-name command:

concat(jr:choice-name(${general_job},'${general_job}'),jr:choice-name(${general_phases},'${general_phases}'),jr:choice-name(${labor_level1},'${labor_level1}'))

Everything so-far, so-good.

My next step was to add a calculation to the dropdown question and ideally it should work.  One thing to note is that I'm still going on displayed values rather than the name, because in the CSV I don't want to have to include the funny name of the label.

pulldata('rolespulldata','role','concatlookup', jr:choice-name(${labor_concatlookup},'${labor_concatlookup}'))