Select to view content in your preferred language

Numeric value needs to be entered with 3 decimals

11-23-2023 01:36 AM
JelleTeunissen
New Contributor II

Hi All, I'm fairly new to Survey123 and running into a problem. In a survey, we have a field that needs to be entered by the user, using a specific format of 1 to 3 digits, and 3 decimals. Like this: 12.345 or 251.837 or 0.536. The 3 decimal places are mandatory, but the first 3 digits are optional. Also, we are in the Netherlands, so the decimal separator could be entered as a comma. Ideally, I would like to have the value converted to a value with a dot as decimal separator, or perhaps only accept the . and display a message when the entered value does not match the format of *0.000.

I have tried input mask, but that doesn't allow the first 3 digits to be optional. When used 9.999, it won't allow 12.345 and when used 999.999 as a mask, we need to enter 012.345.
I have also tried using a regex(., '^[0-9]{1,3}\.[0-9]{3}$'), but this way the 3 decimals are not mandatory and when a comma is used as the decimal separator, it does not work at all.

Is there any way to make this work?

I look forward to your replies, many thanks in advance!
Cheers, Jelle.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
abureaux
MVP Regular Contributor

Using the Input Mask will force data into the format you need.

In the input_mask field, use: 000.999;#

9 is required. 0 is optional. In both cases, only 0 - 9 are accepted.

JelleTeunissen
New Contributor II

Aplogies for not replying sooner...

The mask won't allow less than three digits before the decimals, so 1,234 has to be 001,234. That's not going to work. I have tried using regex regex(.,'^[0-9]{1,3}[\,]\[0-9]{3}$') but that only responds to a dot (.) as a decimal indicator. We use (,) in the Netherlands.
If I use the mask 0,999;# it won't allow more than 1 digit before decimals.

Any ideas?

0 Kudos
abureaux
MVP Regular Contributor

I think this is the solution you are looking for: