Is there a way to retrieve date that media file was last updated and capture it in Survey123 field?

08-17-2020 12:58 PM
JamesKelly4
Occasional Contributor

Can this be done via pulldata or perhaps through a java function? I have never done a javascript function before, but I did just read this article. I would like to add this date as a calculated field in my chronic wasting disease (CWD) surveillance app. I have a series of scheduled R scripts update several .csv files in my media folder on my PC, and I have several updateMediaFolder.py scripts that run a lagged schedule that then update those files in the cloud. This works great for QA/QC on several fields that we track in our database. However, when the user forgets to redownload the survey or one (or more) of my scripts isn't working, the user enters the data manually which inevitably leads to a lot more errors. Therefore, I would like to have a field that shows when those media file folders were last updated. Any help is greatly appreciated! James Tedrick Ismael Chivite survey123 calculations 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
JamesKelly4
Occasional Contributor

James Tedrick‌ sorry to bug you man, but might you be able to help me on this one? Thanks!

0 Kudos
ZacharySutherby
Esri Regular Contributor

Hello James Kelly‌, 

Depending on your WebGIS infrastructure (ArcGIS Online, ArcGIS Enterprise (hosted or registered)) one option, would be to add a field to your feature service (text or date). At the end of the updateMediaFolder script after the updated zip file is uploaded you can use the ArcGIS API for Python to calculate the field using the current time the script was run.