Select to view content in your preferred language

ArcGIS Online Hosted feature service default transformation parameters

03-24-2023 10:10 AM
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

Hi all,

I have published a hosted feature layer to ArcGIS Online AGOL using the data interoperability extension (in other words - FME).  Note I am no expert on FME or Data Interoperability.

My original data is in a United Kingdom format called 'British National Grid', 'BNG' for short.  EPSG:27700 Airy (1880) Spheroid and OSGB1936 (also called OSGB36) Datum.

The process works as intended and creates the hosted feature layer, however the service is EPSG 27700 (which is what I want) but the default transformation is probably sub-optimal.  As the service could likely be used with a Web Mercator or WGS84 basemap, this may affect both performance and accuracy. 

This is the transformation which I believe is the default for the service:

"datumTransformations" : [
    {
      "transformDirection" : "forward", 
      "transformJson" : "[{\"wkid\":1149,\"latestWkid\":1149,\"transformForward\":false,\"name\":\"ETRS_1989_To_WGS_1984\"},{\"wkid\":5338,\"latestWkid\":5338,\"transformForward\":false,\"name\":\"OSGB_1936_To_ETRS_1989_1\"}]", 
      "fromSR" : {
        "wkid" : 4326, 
        "latestWkid" : 4326
      }, 
      "toSR" : {
        "wkid" : 4277, 
        "latestWkid" : 4277
      }
    }, 
    {
      "transformDirection" : "reverse", 
      "transformJson" : "[{\"wkid\":5338,\"latestWkid\":5338,\"transformForward\":true,\"name\":\"OSGB_1936_To_ETRS_1989_1\"},{\"wkid\":1149,\"latestWkid\":1149,\"transformForward\":true,\"name\":\"ETRS_1989_To_WGS_1984\"}]", 
      "fromSR" : {
        "wkid" : 4326, 
        "latestWkid" : 4326
      }, 
      "toSR" : {
        "wkid" : 4277, 
        "latestWkid" : 4277
      }
    }
  ],