Get Map Layername from geometry in Sketch using C# .Net

Jump to solution
02-22-2023 01:26 AM
Zoltan_Szecsei
New Contributor II

Hi,

I am a total newbie at ArcGIS Pro SDK . (and C#, ESRI [pretty much])

(How) Is it possible to get the layername that the geometry in the Sketch buffer belongs to?

I have a fileGDB with 21 layers and for every (any) geometry that the user edits or adds (as a new geometry item), I want to auto update a specific Attribute Field for that Geometry item.

Thanks in advance,

Zoltan

0 Kudos
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
CharlesMacleod
Esri Regular Contributor

>Is it possible to get the layername that the geometry in the Sketch buffer belongs to?

no.

note - layers, as a term, relates to the content of the map (and are shown in the map table of contents). feature classes (or, somewhat, more generically, feature datasets) relates to the content in a GDB. A (feature) layer contains a feature class, sometimes called its "data source".

A _feature_, which is a row containing a geometry within a feature class, is "the" link u want to go from a geometry to a feature class (in your GDB). Typically, features are retrieved through selections (i.e. whatever it is that is _selected_ on the map - and will be highlighted in blue).

View solution in original post

Zoltan_Szecsei
New Contributor II

OK - Methinks I've found a better way thanks to:

https://community.esri.com/t5/arcgis-pro-sdk-questions/arcgis-pro-sdk-2-9-x-order-rowchangedevent/m-...

I'll just lookout for RowChangedEvent and RowCreatedEvent (on all 21 FCs in these GDBs)

Apologies for taking up bandwidth here, but hopefully some lurkers have benefitted from this thread.

Regards,

Zoltan

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
CharlesMacleod
Esri Regular Contributor

>Is it possible to get the layername that the geometry in the Sketch buffer belongs to?

no.