Which is the best solution for ArcGIS application development using AR/VR?

02-02-2021 09:13 PM
Mike_peter_LearnArcGIS123S
New Contributor II

I'm new to this ArcGIS concept. I need to develop a AR/VR application. Concept of this development is:

• Resource Management 
  • Resource Allocation (for the live natural calamities)
  • Tracking the Allocation

I couldn't find any relevant samples in AR/VR using ArcGIS data. So I'm bit confused whether there is any possibility to do this above concept in the AR/VR mode? I'm sure that we can do it in desktop application. Can any one please share any examples or ideas on how to achieve this concept in AR/VR mode? Thanks!

0 Kudos
7 Replies
LongDinh
Occasional Contributor II

Hi Mike_peter_LearnArcGIS123S,

As far as viewing goes in Extended Realities (AR, VR & MR), I do not believe ESRI have an official application / workflows. Most applications are in Esri labs or in early adopter programs.

For AR, you can have a look at AuGeo which allows you to publish a WebMap (linked to your Feature Service) to a mobile application for AR viewing. 

For VR, you can look into ArcGIS 360 VR. GIS Data is published into a City Engine viewer and can be deployed to the ArcGIS 360 VR application. Here's a link to the quick start documentation https://community.esri.com/t5/esri-labs-documents/arcgis-360-vr-quick-start-guide/ta-p/918595/jump-t...

I am not too sure about the progress of MR.

As far as I am aware, these applications are for viewing.

Hope this helps 🙂

New Contributor II

Hi LongDinh,

Actually, I'm looking for some suggestions to develop the below concepts in the AR/VR application using ArcGIS. Can you please share your thoughts on this? Thanks!

• Resource Management 
0 Kudos
LongDinh
Occasional Contributor II
The ArcGIS Workforce application is an OOTB solution for field staff management. Was this what you were after in regards to resource management?