Select to view content in your preferred language

Project Packaging - Not all project geodatabases "migrating" along created package

03-03-2022 05:22 AM
Labels (2)
CarlosChique
New Contributor II

Hi All, 

I am fairly new to the concept of "packaging" and "unpackaging" a project in a new location. I need to do this to move files from my PC into an external drive for further use. 

Creating a package works well, but I noticed that once "unpacked", several of the projects Geodatabases are not "exported" along with the project package. 

I wonder if there is a reason for this or if I am missing something while "packaging" the project.  

I found no answers online and I am following ESRI instructions. 

I could use catalog to copy the missing .gdbs into the new project, but that defeats the purpose of creating a project package.  

Alternatively, if someone can recommend another way to export all project data (e.g., ala ArcMAP - simply copying and pasting in new location an entire folder) then that would be much appreciated. 

Thanks in advance! 

9 Replies
Robert_LeClair
Esri Notable Contributor

When you create the project package, are you checking (or not checking) the "Share outside of organization" check box?  According to the Help -

Unchecked—Enterprise data sources, such as enterprise geodatabases and data from a UNC path, will not be copied to the local folder. This is the default.
Checked—Data formats will be copied and preserved when possible.

CarlosChique
New Contributor II

Hi Robert,

Thanks! Unfortunately, I have tried checking "Shared outside of organization" and still have the same issue. The majority of geodatabases are not exported. I have tried this with different projects and I still have the same problem. It makes it much more difficult to export than ArcMap!

0 Kudos
RhettZufelt
MVP Notable Contributor

"Works well", but several of the Geodatabases are not exported......