Multiple Map Series into PDF

11-01-2021 02:56 AM
FynnScharpen
Occasional Contributor

Good Morning,

I'm searching for a way to export multiple map series into pdfs.

Detailed Description:

I have 4 different layouts, each being a map series, and I'm trying to write a script that appends:

Layout 1 Page 1 + Layout  2  Page 1 +  Layout  3  Page 1 +  Layout  4  Page 1 into one pdf...

that should loop based on the number of pages in the map series (each map series has the same amount).

(for example: 50 pdfs with 4 pages each)

I'm not a python pro so I would be grateful for any suggestions. 

Thanks in advance Fynn

Tags (3)
5 Replies
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

I know the Esri folks have talked about a forthcoming Map Book tool that might be able to do something like this, if I recall. For the time being, however, you'd have to do it yourself using the arcpy.mp submodule in Python. Which, as you mention, is not the ideal solution for you.

Just to elaborate on that anyway, though, since it's the most direct solution without leaving ArcGIS Pro, you would have something like this:

import arcpy
import os

aprx = arcpy.mp.ArcGISProject('path/to/your/project.aprx')

lyt1 = aprx.listLayouts('name-of-first-layout')[0]
lyt2 = aprx.listLayouts('name-of-second-layout')[0]
lyt3 = aprx.listLayouts('name-of-third-layout')[0]
lyt4 = aprx.listLayouts('name-of-fourth-layout')[0]

# Access your features, either through a cursor or something.
# Depends on your situation, maybe, but I use the ArcGIS Python API, as I am working with web layers and find it easier.

for f in features:
    # Create a PDF with feature-based name
    pdfDoc = arcpy.mp.PDFDocumentCreate('path/to/PDF.pdf')

# Adjust your layouts' extent, text, etc
    # Again, depends entirely on your particular layout

# Export layouts to temp files
    lyt1.exportToPDF('temp_1.pdf')
    lyt2.exportToPDF('temp_2.pdf')
    lyt3.exportToPDF('temp_3.pdf')
    lyt4.exportToPDF('temp_4.pdf')