How to create a i3s LOD Tileset from gltf model.

04-16-2021 09:41 AM
Labels (1)
WaqasBakht
New Contributor II

Hello, 

I want to test the I3s tileset using some of our large 3d geo datasets. I am new to Arc and have been struggling to figure out how to create a tileset. 

I have used the Cesium tiling platform, and this accepts gltf files and can create a 3D Tileset with LOD's using that gltf data. But I need to do the same with Arc and I3s. 

If anyone can provide some guidance that would be appreciated!

Thanks, 

Waqas

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Tim_McGinnes
Occasional Contributor III

I would suggest you look at ArcGIS City Engine. It has support for Importing GLTF and Exporting SLPK. Also refer to the Model Export Application Notes, which talks about large models and LODs.

You could ask for a trial version from Esri to see if it will work - it may also be good to contact your Esri distributor directly to ask them if what you want to do is feasible or not.

0 Kudos
WaqasBakht
New Contributor II

Thanks for your response!

Would this work for very large models, say on the scale of Canadian Provinces? 

Thanks Again!

0 Kudos
Tim_McGinnes

The answer of course is ... maybe! I don't use City Engine, I just remember reading something about GLTF support somewhere. Might be worthwhile posting a question in the ArcGIS City Engine community.

It would help if you could describe your model in a bit more detail, maybe with some screenshots (if it is not confidential). There is a big difference between a full city (or province) wide integrated mesh model vs a model made up of DEM + imagery + BIM + multipatches for example. There may be good reasons to take your original source datasets and bring them into the esri environment via a variety of methods to get the best results.

0 Kudos
WaqasBakht
New Contributor II

Hey Tim, 

Thanks again for your response!