How does ESRI deal with confidentiality?

09-10-2018 12:53 PM
ScottSweet2
New Contributor III

An online connection is required to work in ArcGIS Pro so I'd like to know who is monitoring our online session.  I am contemplating a full license for ArcGIS Pro for my business but I have many clients who are very nervous about having any of their mapping information online because their maritime boundaries are often sensitive and a matter of national sovereignty. Some of those clients are embroiled in ICJ court cases with other countries and are worried about spying or hacking.  They don't even allow me to take any data on my computer out of the country.  How can we be reassured ESRI is not collecting any of our data? Do they have any legal statements about this that I can find in the documentation? Confidentiality NationalSecurity ##ICJ

0 Kudos
6 Replies
JonathanFarmer_oldaccount
Occasional Contributor III

Hi Scott,

First, I'm not a security expert here. But I did want to point you in the direction of our ArcGIS Trust Center in case you hadn't seen that site already. Specifically, there is a page on privacy:

Privacy—ArcGIS Trust Center | ArcGIS 

But hopefully someone on our security team can chime in here and speak in more specifics on what we do and don't collect when using ArcGIS Pro.

Jonathan

Robert_LeClair
Esri Notable Contributor

A few things to consider with regard to privacy and ArcGIS Pro:

Licensing - you can configure AGP to be single use, concurrent use or named user (AGOL or Portal).  If you configure AGP for single use/concurrent use, nothing is being collected.  If you use ArcGIS Enterprise and set up your Portal for ArcGIS, all licensing and data is stored on your own hardware, behind your own firewall.

Portal - many customers concerned about data storage and who can see what configure and install ArcGIS Enterprise to secure everything.

George_Thompson
Esri Frequent Contributor